Dance Dance Revolution

November 8th was the annual Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation’s (ALCF) Gala.

I first attended this event in 2012, only months into chemotherapy and still in the whirlwind phase of diagnosis.  The Gala allowed me to meet other patients and survivors.  It was a pivotal point in my journey as the event filled us with hope.

The following year, I attended while still recovering from radiation and adjusting to a life with one lung.  When Bonnie called upon me to speak to the audience and share my story, my journey once again took a major change.   It sparked a passion in me to join the fight to raise lung cancer awareness.

JCH_7350 copy

Me with new patient, Corey Wood at her first – of many – ALCF Galas.

At this year’s Gala, as the audience listened to the leading oncologists and researchers speak on this year’s advancements and the future possibilities, I found myself holding the hand of a new patient, a beautiful 22 year old woman, Corey.  She was at her first Gala.  Like I did at my first, I watched her grow in confidence throughout the event.    I realized that Bonnie Addario and Scott Santarella have given me the greatest gift.  As a member of ALCF, my fight against lung cancer is not just limited to my personal fight.   I have the opportunity and platform to reach and help so many others.   I am so grateful.

And oh yeah, one more nugget:  Stella’s not the only chick that got her groove back.  After a year break, I found myself back on the dance floor in 2014.  And there’s video to prove it:

Much love. Live in the moment.

EmBen

 

9 thoughts on “Dance Dance Revolution

  1. ❤ ❤ <3. Unforgettable night. Obviously love this post. Thanks for everything Em. Also, just read the 10 yr anniversary post….so freaking cute. I almost dropped a tear and we know I only ever cry for gala videos 😉

  2. Emily, these days it is still hard for me to smile, but seeing your beautiful photo and even more reading the wonderful news put a smile on my face and filled my heart with much hope for all the lung cancer patients. I read all the news where lung cancer is concerned and even though I lost the love of my life—David—to this horrible disease—we learned a lot and your story helped give us courage as it has and will with others. I am very slowly coming back to life myself and encouraging others to find the “right” doctor, GET TESTED. stay informed and I always suggest the Bonnie Addario Foundation.

  3. I am SOOO Happy to read this post.!!!..and to see you cutting up the floor at the Gala,Emily!!…You look amazing! ….and I love your hair.!…but most importantly…I love that you are doing so well..I love what you are doing with the foundation and how you are helping Corey (and others) deal with this diagnosis and giving her the hope she needs….final note! SO happy to see Michele dancing!…That she is back on that dance floor …where she belongs!

    Mara XXX

Leave a Reply

