A Decade of Love

October 23rd was an anniversary, and finally one not about cancer.

Some of you may remember my post from last year about my wonderful husband, Miles. Throughout my diagnosis, Miles has been by my side as a caregiver, cheerleader, researcher, and best friend.

This past week, Miles and I celebrated the 10 year anniversary of when we started dating. Alone, that’s an exciting milestone.  Coupled with the fact that it signifies that we’ve spent 1/3 of our lives together made it even more special.

10 year anniversary roof

Miles re-created our 3-month date, in which we snuck up to the roof of his dorm, ate Chinese food, and then watched a movie. The 10 year version still had Chinese food, but he upped the ante by adding a projector to our roof which displayed a slideshow of our last decade together.

I don’t know who or where I’d be if Miles hadn’t come into my life.  All I know is that I am forever grateful that 10 years ago, he sent me on an elaborate scavenger hunt before asking me to our college formal. He makes me a better person each day, and I honestly couldn’t be happier.

Thank you, Miles, for making the last third of my life so wonderful. Thank you for making the last two and a half years a time of love, hope, and courage, despite all odds.  Can’t wait for the next decade, when we’ll be celebrating half our life together.

 

10 years produces a lot of photos…here’s a brief slideshow of the last 10 years:

1st slideshow

Left: The beginning – carving pumpkins in 2004 with webmaster Annie!                                             Right: Our date on the dorm roof, 2 buck chuck included!

2nd slideshow

Left: Thanksgiving 2004 – first time we said “I love you”                                                                     Right: When I landed after studying abroad in Spain, Miles picked me up with flowers and a kiss!

3rd slideshow

Left: He brings out the goofball in me…sumo wrestling!                                                                 Right: Celebrating our favorite holiday – St. Patty’s

4th slideshow

Left: In Memphis with my parents, celebrating our engagement!                                                 Right: We love a good costume party!

5th slideshow

Left: Supporting our Steelers at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh                                                             Right: Enjoying post-treatment life with friends at my dear friend Chelsea’s wedding

Much love. Live in the moment.

Emily

 

 

12 thoughts on “A Decade of Love

  1. Pingback: Hope, Mice, Social Media and Lung Cancer

  2. We love you both so much and know there are many, many more years of happiness in your future. Love you bunches, Mom and Dad X0X0X0X

  3. Even after many years together and all of our adventures, you are both an inspiration to us. Congratulations and Cheers to many more!

Leave a Reply

