One Step Further

18 months.  1.5 years.  One step further from cancer.

Last night we received the results of my 1.5 year post-op scan, and I am ALL CLEAR. That’s right – 3 more cancer-free months have passed since the last scan, and we expect nothing but NED in our future.

8.6.14 scan results

Miles and I took a walk last night to celebrate – and brought along some to-go adult beverages for a “cheers”!

In fact, Dr. Reckamp now wants to push my next few scans to every 4 months, and then, once I pass the 2-year mark, to every 6 months thereafter.  The idea behind this is to lower my long-term radiation exposure, because, well…we can now start thinking about the long term.

This all comes as an incredible relief.  While Miles and I have been busy enjoying life these past few months (traveling to visit family and friends, giving interviews to increase lung cancer awareness, celebrating birthdays, attending friends’ weddings), my health is never far from our minds.  I still need about 10 hours of sleep a night, I’m still incredibly susceptible to getting a cold, and I’m still working to increase my endurance with the hope of expanding my lung capacity. But these are daily battles we fight in order to keep on winning the greater war.  This latest scan is welcome confirmation that we continue to move in the right direction.  And we couldn’t be happier.

IMG_2468 - Copy

Yes, I am a dork. But, thankfully, my amazing sister, EmTay, is still willing to train with me so that I can proudly cross the 5k finish line!

Speaking of moving in the right direction:  I’m working my way up to 3.1 miles so that I can speed-walk at this year’s Your Next Step is the Cure (YNSITC) 5k in San Francisco on September 21st. Your participation will help eradicate lung cancer, and Team EmBen needs YOU!  Don’t let a one-lunger out-do you – bring your two healthy lungs out to join me in this race!

CLICK HERE to register for Team EmBen and select “Join Our Team” in the right hand column.  It’s only 1.5 months away, and I would absolutely love to see you all there!

If you can’t come to SF but still want to donate to support Team EmBen and the cause, please CLICK HERE. Thank you!

 

Much love. Live in the moment.

EmBen

 

#beatlungcancer

12 thoughts on “One Step Further

  1. remember me. I am the lady you met in Dr. Flores office. any way that I can help your foundation let me know. Phyllis Epner

  2. “We can now start thinking about the long term” – I love this! Keep going, Emily. You are awesome!!

    PS – your blog notification popped up when I got out of my scan today, so I’m taking that as a good sign! 🙂

  3. So happy for you Emily! You are a rock star and every one of your updates brings a huge smile to my face and warmth to my heart!

    Xo Azar

Leave a Reply

