Letters from Ginny

One of the most difficult things for Emily and Miles when it came to moving to the East Coast for Emily’s surgery was leaving their beloved dog Ginny behind.  After much debate, they realized that they might not be able to give Ginny the attention that she needed during Emily’s recovery and, with Ginny being a California pup, she would find the climate quuuuuite a bit chillier than what she was accustomed to.  Luckily, dear friends Stephanie and Roger were up for fostering a new furry friend so off Ginny went to sleep-away camp at their apartment.  While Ginny has had a wonderful time with her new besties Steph and Rog, she desperately misses her Mom and Pop.  In anticipation of their return to Los Angeles this week, Ginny has compiled a photo journal to show them all of the fun things that she has been up to while they were away kicking lung cancer…

The first night that you left was a little rough. I kept looking outside for you guys, but you never came back to get me…

Don’t worry though; I made myself comfortable pretty quickly

Soon enough I was attending Superbowl parties with the whole crew – how cool is that?!

Soon enough I was attending Superbowl parties with the whole crew – how cool is that?!

Steph took me on sunny afternoon strolls in the tall grass which were THE BEST!!

Wine & movie night? Don’t mind if I do!

I promise that I’ve been good, but every once in awhile I had to go in to timeout…

These guys are okay, too. We even got matching shirts for you Mom!!

These guys are okay, too. We even got matching shirts for you Mom!!

Like I said, I made myself pretty comfortable here…

It didn't take too long to figure out who I needed to sit by during meals...

It didn’t take too long to figure out who I needed to sit by during meals…

OMG they even took me to Girl’s Weekend in the desert – SO FUN!!

Ginny 10a

I even made an awesome new friend of my own!

We went back for Easter Weekend in the desert.  Puppy Easter egg hunt was the best!  I was super competitive just like you Dad...and might have had to spend a few minutes in timeout.

We went back to the Desert for Easter Weekend. Puppy Easter egg hunt was the best! I was super competitive just like you Dad…and might have had to spend a few minutes in timeout.

Steph and Roger have so many cool places to nap at their apartment!

Steph and Roger have so many cool places to nap at their apartment!

They also got me a new toy (AWESOME!), I am always super ready to play!

They also got me a new toy (AWESOME!!), I am always super ready to play!

Did I mention how good I am at making new friends?

Did I mention how good I am at making new friends?

Every night I eat dinner under a picture of NYC which makes it seem like you’re not too far away after all.

Every night I eat dinner under a picture of NYC which makes it seem like you’re not too far away after all.

I can’t remember - have I told you how much I love napping??

I can’t remember – have I told you how much I love napping??

For some reason these fools like to take pictures of me, but I’ve decided that I’ve had enough sleep-away camp. Come back and save me from these people pleeeeease!

Love, Your Ginny

4 thoughts on “Letters from Ginny

  1. So precious! Huge kudos to Steph and Rog who jumped on Team EmBen from the get-go. When they offered to help, they were serious, emailing daily until we succumbed to giving them things off our list to handle. We initially did not want to burden others, but Steph and Rog made us realize that the team approach was an integral part of Emily’s recovery. Great post, you guys – we start packing this afternoon! – Michele & Rich

Leave a Reply

